A number of grants for PhD students with oral contributions to the conference with high scientific impact will be provided. Applications had to be submitted until June 30th 2016. Submitted contributions were be judged by the scientific committee. More than 30 grant applications had to be evaluated. Ten PhD students were finally awarded with the EWCPS2017 Young Scientists Grant.

The grant includes the conference week ticket, shared accommodation between grant recipients and a ticket to the Après Plasma Party.

Application guidelines for the EWCPS2017-PhD grant can be found  HERE.

The winners and their scientific contributions to EWCPS2017 are announced  HERE.

European Awards

“European Award for Plasma Spectrochemistry” and the new “European Rising Star Award for Plasma Spectrochemistry”

Agilent Technologies, Inc. We are very happy to announce the awardees for the 2017 awards sponsored by Agilent. The award ceremony will be held during the opening ceremony of the EWCPS2017 in Sankt Anton.

Joanna Szpunar

The Agilent PLASMA AWARD will be awarded to Joanna Szpunar, National Research Council of France (CNRS), for her innovative contributions in the field of metallomics and bio-organic speciation, her significant scientific contributions and her support of the plasma spectrochemistry and inorganic mass spectrometry community.

Joanna Szpunar

graduated from the Warsaw University of Tec hnology in 1986 and obtained her Ph.D (1992) and D.Sc. (habilitation) (2000) from at the University of Warsaw. Since 1997 she works at the National Research Council of France (CNRS). In 2007 she obtained the title of professor of chemistry (Poland). Her research interests concern bioinorganic speciation analysis and hyphenated techniques for metallomics. She was the chairperson of the Winter Conference on Plasma Spectrochemistry in 2013.

Kontakt Affiliation Topic
Research Council of France (CNRS), Pau, FR Speciation
Johanna Irrgeher

The Agilent RISING STAR PLASMA AWARD will be awarded to Johanna Irrgeher, HZG Geesthacht, a promising young scientist, who has contributed with highly important work in an area of increasing significance, namely isotope ratio MS. She is awarded for her significant fundamental research and novel exciting applications of isotope ratio MS and her outstanding scientific record.

Johanna Irrgeher

is currently postdoctoral researcher in the field of analytical chemistry at the Helmholtz Centre for Materials and Coastal Research Geesthacht in Germany with her research focus set on analytical method development for elemental and isotopic analysis in the field of analytical ecogeochemistry dealing with aquatic and terrestrial ecosystems.


Kontakt Affiliation Topic
Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthach, DE Isotope as tracers in water catchments

The “European Award for Plasma Spectrochemistry”, which promotes analytical plasma spectrochemical developments and applications in Europe, is awarded for a single outstanding piece of work or for continued important contributions in the field.

The new “European Rising Star Award for Plasma Spectrochemistry” should honor and promote outstanding contributions of upcoming younger scientist at the beginning of their career within the field of plasma spectrochemistry.

The “European Award for Plasma Spectrochemistry“ award is an important opportunity for researchers working in European labs to promote their work by delivering the opening lecture at the conference. The winner will also receive a cash prize of EUR 6000 and coverage of the usual costs for participating at the European Winter Conference 2017.

The winner of the new “European Rising Star Award for Plasma Spectrochemistry” will receive a cash prize of EUR 4000 and coverage of the usual costs for participating at the European Winter Conference 2017.

Award Panel
An independent panel of five prominent European scientists in plasma spectrochemistry and one representative from Agilent will select the winner. The jury members for the 8th award are Thomas Prohaska (EWCPS2017 chairman), Uwe Karst (EWCPS2015 chairman), Jörg Feldmann (2015 Plasma Award Winner), N. Jakubowski (2013 Plasma Award Winner), and Nori Yamada as representative of Agilent Technologies.

The winner will be announced during the opening the conference by the conference chairman, Prof. Dr. Thomas Prohaska.

A detailed guideline for nomination/application can be downloaded using the following  LINK.

Emergin Leader Awards

New Emerging Leader Award to Be Presented
at EWCPS 2017

At the 2017 European Winter Conference on Plasma Spectrochemistry, a new award will be presented:
The Emerging Leader in Atomic Spectroscopy Award. This award is sponsored by Spectroscopy magazine, with winners determined by an independent panel.

The Emerging Leader in Atomic Spectroscopy Award recognizes the achievements and aspirations of a talented young atomic spectroscopist who has made strides early in his or her career toward the advancement of atomic spectroscopy techniques and applications.
The winner must be within 10 years of receiving his or her highest academic degree in the year the award is granted.

The award, which includes a crystal award and a certificate, will be presented in a plenary session at EWCPS 2017 (February 19–24, 2016), followed by a talk by the award winner. The winner will also be featured in an article in a print issue of Spectroscopy and in an interview that will be published in our electronic newsletter and on the Spectroscopy website.

Information about how to nominate a candidate for the award is available on the  SPECTROSCOPY WEBSITE. Nominations for the 2017 award are due by May 16, 2016.

The Emerging Leader in Spectroscopy Award 2017 will go to George CHAN from Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in Berkeley, California.




    University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences


    Department of Chemistry


    Division of Analytical Chemistry



    Konrad Lorenz Straße 24


    3430 Tulln a.d. Donau



Get your ticket