is Professor at the University of Aberdeen and Chair for Environmental Analytical Chemistry since 2004. He leads TESLA, the Trace Element Speciation Laboratory Aberdeen, as part of the newly founded Marine Biodiscovery Centre. He is author of more than 200 scientific papers which received more than 10,000 citations. He received the 2015 European Award for Plasma Spectrochemistry. The main focus of his research is on elemental speciation with emphasis on the development of hyphenated mass spectrometry for studies of the molecular forms of arsenic and their behaviour in biology and the environment.